Safety Committees

Safety Committees are Campus Committees that are mandated by regulatory and policy requirements. Some of these regulatory agencies mandate that approval by a duly appointed Committee be granted before any research project using radioactive materials or certain biological agents can be initiated. These agencies include the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), California Department of Health Services - Radiologic Health Branch, National Institutes of Health (NIH) Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant DNA Molecules, all of which are encompassed in the appropriate University Policies and Manuals.

Safety Committees:

  • Institutional Biological Safety Committee (IBC)
  • Chemical & Environmental Safety Committee (CESC)
  • High Containment Laboratory Oversight Group (HCLOG)
  • Laser Safety Committee (LSC)
  • Radiation Safety Committee (RSC)
  • Radioactive Drug Research Committee (RDRC)


Contact Us:

[email protected]